Total Art Soul - for artists

" Please listen carefully and try to hear what I am not saying. "
Charles C. Finn
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?

Wondering about watermarks
(1 viewing) (1) Guest
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Wondering about watermarks
Wondering about watermarks 7 Years, 9 Months ago  
Hi everyone! A newbie here...just wondering if i should have a watermark on my photos when uploading to the gallery? I have a watermark on all my photos on my Facebook "fan" page due to fears I have about trying to protect my work. I'm not really sure the right way to go about all of this is. I would appreciate any help you may be able to offer

Thank you sooo much! peace, jessica
inspiremedaisy
inspiremedaisy
www.facebook.com/inspiremedaisy
graphgraph
User Offline Click here to see the profile of this user
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re: Wondering about watermarks 7 Years, 9 Months ago  
It's a personal choice Jessica. If you feel better having it, then just do it. It's important to protect your work.
Cathy
Cathy
www.cathysavels.com
graph
Gender: Female Cathy Savels - Artist Location: France Birthday: 09/27
Mixed Media Artist
www.cathysavels.com
Co-Creator of Total Art Soul

Re:Wondering about watermarks 7 Years, 3 Months ago  
Jessica, I am trying to break the habit of using watermarks on small images online on Etsy and Artfire. I only upload images that are 72dpi, which is not anything that could be printed well. If I were loading high res images to a gallery for client viewing, it would be a different story.

Any more thoughts on this? I'd love to hear from others about how you feel re. watermarking your low-res images.
bbrunophotography
bbrunophotography
bbrunophotography.etsy.com
graphgraph

I don't put watermarks on any of my online images - if they're sufficiently discreet that they don't significantly distract from the image, they serve no useful purpose (generally easily removed with Photoshop).